Initial Visit: September 18th, 2016
Rating: 4/5
Price: Free

Description: Why do they have the apostrophe after the S?! I just don’t get it. Then again, I is not English Major.

Coal Miner’s Park is a nice little retreat from the hecticness that adulthood can bring. It offers some walking trails that can also be biked on. They also have some open fields for whatever use you could use them for? Don’t quote me on that! I don’t need Pekin Park District billing me for a tore up field. Ha.

I came here on a slightly hot, but not unpleasant day and walked for a few miles while listening to music. It was pleasant. I did reach the end of a trail that intersected a road, so I am not sure if it continued up the road or that was the end. It could’ve used some more signage to indicate stuff like that.

But overall, it is a really relaxing area to walk and relax. I want to come back and walk the other parts that I missed on this trip. If you are in the area, you can also check out Pekin Lagoon for fishing, playground(ing?), and paddle boating!

300 S Parkway Drive
Pekin, IL 61554
(309) 347-7275

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Coal-Miners-Park/206280276061749?ref=stream
Website: http://www.pekinparkdistrict.org/coalminers.html

