Initial Visit: October 21st, 2012
Rating: 4.25/5
Price: Free

Description: Bridging connections between friends.

While exploring Bloomington in my early days of traveling, a few of us stumbled upon the Friendship Bridge. None of us really knew the area so it was quite a surprise to find a nice little bridge dedicated to Friendships. Well, it’s between two cities… and that other city isn’t even in the States!

That other city is Asahikawa in Hokkaido, Japan. Without copying and pasting information on why they are Sister Cities, I provided a link below that goes into it. 🙂

The bridge itself is nice. I don’t recall too much of that specific day, but I do remember it being pretty peaceful and a generally serene area. It is located near the Miller Park Zoo, so if you find yourself at the Zoo, make the few minute walk to check out the bridge! I do personally visit the Zoo about once a year, so when I go this year, I will re-visit it and update this blog with more information and new photos.

1020 S Morris Ave
Bloomington, IL 61701

Website: http://www.bnsistercities.org/

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

