Initial Visit: March 21st, 2017
Rating: 5/5 toots
Price: $

Description: I’ll be honest, the two reasons I stopped here were; the name and I wanted coffee. Who doesn’t love a good place with a fun name? Whistle Stop definitely has the fun name… but does it have the delicious coffee to go with the fun name?

Yes, yes it does. If you see the photos below, it looks like a quaint little place. One that is oozing person and local flavor/history. I am sure there is a reason why it is located in an old train station and why it is named after a whistle. While I didn’t get to dig into the history of the place, I did get to sample their coffee and I must say…

It may be Top 5 on coffee places for me, just based on flavor alone. I happened to be in the area and was wanting coffee, so I stopped here and grabbed an Iced Caramel Macchiato. The guy behind the counter admitted that he may have never made one before but would give it his best shot. Well his best shot easily landed this place in my Top 5 coffees that I have had. They do offer a small food menu to compliment the coffee, but I had other things in mind for food, so I can’t vouch for that. But the online reviews for the food are just as good as they are for the coffee, it sems.

We chatted a little bit about a flyer I had in my hand and about coffee. Really nice guy, who was hanging out with a friend in the dining area til we arrived. The interior is, of course, Train-themed. But not over the top where it looks tacky. It was the right level of trains mixed with the aesthetics of a coffeehouse.

This place just proves the old adage… you can’t judge a book by it’s cover. I didn’t have a lot of hope going in, based on the outside appearance, which isn’t bad, just different… but when I left, I left a happy customer who gives this place 5 toots of a horn.

If you hear the whistle, that is your call to go get some delicious coffee!

400 4th St W
Milan, IL 61264

(309) 787-4277

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WhistleStopJavaShop/
Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/whistle-stop-java-shop-milan
Website: http://mississippiriver.natgeotourism.com/content/whistle-stop-java-shop/msp428e0ed91eac001e8

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

