Initial Visit: March 11th, 2015
Rating: 5/5
Price: $-$$

Description: I never thought I would get to visit the Great Wall!

All joking aside, this place was great! In talking to some friends about traveling, eating and Chinese food, one of them recommended this place. So, doing what I normally do, I gathered who I could to make a small trip there to check it out!

Once inside, we were greeted by a friendly family and were quickly seated and served. The menu is pretty typical for your Chinese restaurant and the prices are in line with the other places too.

I don’t remember what my friend Tommy ordered, but I got the General Tsao. I do love a General Tsao with a mild burn and that is exactly what this place offered. It was delicious, had a kick and the portions were plentiful! What more could you want.

If you look below, they served the food on a metal plate thing-y. I’ve never seen it before and never seen it since, but it was really cool. It made me think that it was designed to share what you order with your friends, if you wanted.They also give you a plate to eat on, so if you do share, you can pile it on your plate and devour away!

In writing this blog post, I had no idea that this place closed down and re-opened as a Thai place. Whether it is the same owners or new, I do not know, but a Thai place fits in line with the other places on the blog, as that area has gravitated towards Thai Town.

It’s sad the great wall has crumbled, so to speak. But the delicious memories of there will remain in my heart and belly for a lifetime.

1219 W Main St
Peoria, IL 61606

(309) 637-1104

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Great-Wall-Peoria-183945818313487/
Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/great-wall-peoria
Website: http://www.greatwallpeoria.com/

WP_20150311_010.jpg

