Initial Visit: February 20th, 2015
Rating: 3.75/5
Price: $$

Description: Whitey’s is Alrighty.

My dad and I have discussed this place a few times, so before we went to a concert, we decided to finally stop in and check it out. Whitey’s BBQ is now in a location that was known as Bamboo Inn, which was an iconic East Peoria staple for years. Will Whitey’s carry that spot now?

Maybe. We had heard only great things about this place, so our expectations were pretty high. The interior of Whitey’s is open. Maybe a bit too open. But they had this fantastic chalk wall that had a ton of cool drawings on it and lots of little hidden gems for various pop culture references.

We both ordered the Pulled Pork Sandwich. It took awhile for the food to come out and when it did, much to our surprise, there was no BBQ sauce on it. It took us a second to realize that we had to pick out our sauces from bottles they put out. I don’t remember which flavors we got, but overall the food was alright. It was good, but it just lacked something. Still can’t put my finger on what it was lacking. I do remember that our total was $21.12 for the Pulled Pork meal and sodas. I only remember that because I instantly thought of the band Rush and their iconic song.

But in good news, my dad went back with my stepmom and RAVED about the place. He said it was miles above and beyond the time we went. This has since tempted me to go back and give them another whirl. I haven’t gone yet, but when I do, I will take some more photos and update this blog accordingly.

Hopefully the longevity that Bamboo Inn had will rub off on Whitey’s. I constantly see tons of business workers go in there for lunch, so I am betting it will be around for quite awhile.

As usual, support your local businesses and stay saucy, readers!

131 E Washington St
East Peoria, IL 61611

(309) 699-5700

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Whiteys-BBQ-320976671352100/
Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/whiteys-bbq-east-peoria-2
Website: https://www.whiteysbbq.com/

