Initial Visit: April 10th, 2017
Rating: 4.5/5
Price: $-$$

Description: Welcome to Moe’s!

Wait, it’s not that Moe’s. That Moe’s is a Southwestern Grill/Mexican restaurant. Nor is it Moe’s Tavern from The Simpsons, but it is close. This Moe’s is a semi-upscale bar that is a comfortable place to either have a few drinks or have a few french fries.

After concluding some business up in the Quad City area, I need a good burger. If there is one thing I learned, it is that I hate driving around the Quad Cities, so I tried to grab something on the way out. Found this place on Yelp as I was leaving Davenport so I stopped by.

On the outside, I was highly suspicious of the great reviews as the exterior is… well… not too inviting. It just seems like another seedy bar, until you step inside. Once you step inside, you are pleasantly surprised by how nice it is for being a bar.

There was no one else in the bar, so the bartender was playing some slots, but as soon as I entered, she was quick to offer a greeting and take a drink order. We struck up a conversation as it was my first time there and she recommended a few items on the menu.

I ended up getting a classic bacon cheeseburger and it was good! It was even served on a brioche bun, which I have a slight affinity for. From starting with low expectations to being impressed the more I was there, the burger was just icing on the cake. (Sadly, no, there was no cake to be had on the dessert menu, if there was even a dessert menu.)

Since it was my first time there, the waitress gave me $2 in Moe’s Dollars to spend on my next visit. Sadly, it expires after 90 days and I don’t think I will be back in the area for quite awhile. Working in a customer service field myself, it is gestures like this that can really make someones visit awesome.

There are many Moe’s out there. One’s that yell ‘WELCOME TO MOE’S!’ at every customer that comes in. One’s that are fictional and have a resident drunkard named Barney. This one, I can thankfully say, is real and is deserving of the Burger part in their name.

1524 4th Ave
Rock Island, IL 61201

(309) 732-1885

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Moes-Burgers-and-Brews-676315989156966/
Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/moes-burgers-and-brews-rock-island
Website: http://www.moefoodsllc.com/

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

