Initial Visit: March 23rd, 2014
Rating: 4/5
Price: $

Description: That place of 50’s nostalgia has now become a place of nostalgia.

On our way to Chicago to spend the day exploring, my dad and I needed to get some food in our bellies before hitting the traffic-heavy city. We found that this place was the perfect distance outside the city to stop at without having a long drive to our destination with a full belly.

If you’ve never been to a 50’s themed diner, let me paint a simple picture. Imagine a Steak n’ Shake but a bit more aged/worn and 50’s stuff everywhere. That’s about how most of them look. That 50’s Diner was exactly that. That weird combination of vinyl, black and white colors, with 50’s stuff everywhere. On paper, these kinds of places aren’t my cup of tea, but in reality, I love these places. I have no sentimental attachment to stuff from the 1950’s but the stuff these diners offer is amazing.

The food offering here was rather varied (as is for most diners, considering their size) and the portion sizes were more than ample for the price you pay. That is what my dad and I got here. We both got decent sized burgers with a pile of fries that was more than enough to satiate our hunger. While the food was ample, the flavor was a bit on the bland side. So, you had plenty for your money but the food was lacking something. In the end, we had more than enough left over to take home, but as we still had a full day ahead of us, we didn’t take any with us.

When it came to write this blog, it was a bit sad to see the place had closed as my dad and I had stopped here another time in 2015 and had a similar experience as the first. After doing some Googling, it seemed there was some weird happenings with the owner of the place. I won’t go in to that here but you can Google it if you are interesting.

600 W Mazon Ave
Dwight, IL 60420
(815) 584-1065

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/that-50s-place-dwight