Initial Visit: January 21st, 2015
Rating: 5/5
Price: $

Description: This would be quite the delicious place to be locked up.

If you are familiar with some of the history of the Greater Peoria area, you might be familiar with the Bartonville Insane Asylum/Peoria State Hospital. It was opened in 1902 and ran until 1973. The Nut House opened in early 1974. Coincidence? I think not.

Ok, I may have been pulling your leg. The Nut House has actually been in the Peoria area for over 100 years, serving up tantalizing candy and delicious sweets since before all of us were born.

Having been to Richard’s on Main many times, I have walked by The Nut House many times, often drooling over the goodies inside, but it being too late to go in and get some. So on a rare afternoon with my friends, we finally were able to pop in and check it out.

The House is small, but they have it crammed full of goodies. If you have ever been to a candy store that offers all assortments of candies, baked goods and chocolate covered everything, then you can imagine what the inside of this place looks like.

During our visit here, Matt grabbed a huge bag of Red Hots. He is still munching on them to this day, I bet. I don’t recall what Tim and I grabbed, but I do remember it was delicious. The lady who was working was really nice. She chatted us up a bit as we drooled over all the choices. Sorry to her if she had to mop up after we left.

Fast Forward to St. Patty’s Day in 2017 and my friends and I are in Richard’s, having a blast. Since Richard’s is underground, I stepped outside to get some cell service. Then I happened to notice The Nut House was open, so I stumbled in and looked everything over with hungry drunk eyes. On the counters, my eyes settled on some roasted nuts. Those kinds you find in the mall during christmas time, that fill the air with the delicious aroma of toasted nuts. I quickly pulled out my wallet and requested a bag. The lady was really nice and chatted me up and said they were available all year around. That was music to my ears. Any ways, I digress.

The Nut House is a great little stop if you need your Sweet Tooth fixed. They had a lot of choices to pick from and the staff has been great each time I’ve been there. I wish I had some photos of the inside and I will try to update this post with photos when I go back. Just try to go soon as the business is up for sale and who knows what’ll happen if someone takes it over.

Stay Nutty 🙂

Update: Awwww nuts, this place has closed. 😦

311 Main St
Peoria, IL 61602

(309) 673-4622

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/www.TheNutHouse.info/?ref=stream
Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/the-nut-house-peoria
Website: http://www.thenuthouse.info/